I2C and SPI Max devices

So I have a question, in before I pull the trigger on purchasing a bunch of sensors for a weather station project.

I am not experienced with SPI or I2C devices beyond plugging into the foundation plate or UI PCB. My project will be on a custom board for the pico to the pi-top as I am going to use @duwudi’s idea to get the pico to wake up the pi-top to run a custom script etc

Anyways is I understand SPI can have as many devices available depending on how many pins are available but what about I2C will I need some sort of multiplexer or something how do you use multiple devices?

While the sensors will be running on the pico I think the question is universal between the platforms

I can get most of the sensors as I2C bit not all are SPI but if I use Adafruit they certainly love STEMMA/qwik/qt or what ever it is

Will it help if I got a list of sensors that I will be looking at?

SPI can have two devices as there are two chip select pins available, so you can flip between two different devices on the same bus.

For I2C you can have up to 255 devices on the same bus, the only requirement is that they must all have a different I2C address or they will clash. Some chips come with pins that can modify one or a few bits of the address just incase people want more than one of the same sensor on a bus

A list of sensors would be useful, send it over!

Will get a list when not at work

@duwudi here is what I am looking at, nothing set in stone, may buy all of them and more for testing

• Adafruit BME280 I2C or SPI Temperature Humidity Pressure Sensor
  • Adafruit VEML7700 Lux Sensor
  • Adafruit TSL2591 High Dynamic Range Digital Light Sensor
  • Adafruit SGP30 Air Quality Sensor
  • Adafruit SI1145 Digital UV Index / IR / Visible Light Sensor

I am not sure how to handle rain fall, wind speed and wind direction at this moment