Need to use ROS on pitop4

Im trying to make an AGV and am planning to use ROS for the path planning and navigation.But ROS needs Ubuntu 18.04 and on the Pi-Top4 raspbian is preinstalled.
Will installing ubuntu in it require some diff steps all together(im new to this world so i dont have much idea about this.)and will installing ubuntu change anything in the pi top display?

You’re in luck! I’ve been playing with ROS for a while now as part of integrating robotics with pi-top [4] - it’s completely awesome so I’m really glad to hear others are interested too!

The approach I took (which is definitely the right approach) is to use a Docker container based on Ubuntu. The advantage of this is that you can keep all of your ROS code completely isolated from pi-topOS and you can deploy it to any pi-top really easily without any dependency issues.

Here’s an example Dockerfile:

FROM ros:noetic-ros-core

USER root

# add pi-top [4] PMA libraries into the docker container
ADD /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/ptpma /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/ptpma
ADD /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/ptcommon /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/ptcommon

# create catkin workspace
ENV CATKIN_WS /home/catkin_ws
RUN mkdir -p $CATKIN_WS/src
WORKDIR $CATKIN_WS

# add .bashrc entries
RUN echo 'source /ros_entrypoint.sh' >> ~/.bashrc
RUN echo 'cd /home/catkin_ws' >> ~/.bashrc

Install Docker like this:

curl -sSL https://get.docker.com | sh
sudo usermod -aG docker pi

You can then reboot so you don’t have to use sudo with docker commands

Build the docker image like this:

docker build -t ros-noetic-pi-top:0.0.1 .

(be inside the directory where your Dockerfile is stored, you can change the tag to whatever you want)

Once it’s built, run it like this:

docker run -it --privileged -p 8022:22 -p 80:80 -p 8080:8080 -p 9090:9090 -p 11311:11311 ros-noetic-pi-top:0.0.1